Banned Book Week May Be Over….

AbsolutelyTDPTI

 

But that doesn’t mean we should forget the strength librarians across the country show ever day when they fight for our right to access  information. After visiting my local library this week, that had a great table set up with books that have been banned or challenged over the years, I got a little ambitious and brought a couple home (okay five). I also logged on to ALA’s website and was shocked (not really) to see that one of my all-time favorite YA novels was on the list. If you haven’t read The Absolute True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie you must. I read it aloud to my family as one of our bed time books a few months ago and everyone loved it. I even allowed my five year-old to listen in, because I refuse to censure what he reads either. Being slightly Native American (12.5% with a margin of error of +/- 12.5%) I liked reading a realistic account of life growing up on a reservation. This book was brought up a few times in my Multicultural Librarianship course as a must read for those pursuing the field, with an interest in youth librarianship. There are very few books on the market that authentically reach out to the Native American population, which makes me even more excited about this book. As a side note…I am now reading A Wrinkle in Time, another often banned book, and I am finding I don’t hate the Science Fiction genre quite as much as I thought. I may have to pick another one up just to make sure. Anyways…if you get a moment do like I did and go grab a few banned books, a blanket, and a bowl of popcorn (family not required) and you will probably have a weekend I am completely envious of.

Leave a Reply

